Research Journal Entry 2

April 22, 2010

“Material adversity in childhood is a risk factor for both physical and mental ill-health in  childhood and adulthood.”

believing:

The author suggests that materialism is a strong determinant of the health  outcome of a child whether it be physical or mental and being a believer. I will trust all the author is saying in the quote. Perhaps there is more to this statement, but with all I have, I will make the idea work. As long as most of it is true, some errors are acceptable.  For the reason being, it is not possible to experience every kind of pain or emotion,  being sympathetic towards others or putting self in others shoes is like walking in another’s moccasins.

doubting:

If I was to doubt the author’s view in this quote, I would most likely be aggressive or stubborn. I would then identify the problems and use them to deny the value of whatever is being pointed out. In this quote, I could just say that since I have a different opinion on what the risk factors on mental and physical effects are, I would then disregard everything the author would have to say concerning that topic.

Comment URLs:

Evaluating My Sources On Cocaine Trafficking

Exercise 1.6

2 Responses to “Research Journal Entry 2”

  1. serranow Says:

    To believe your author wouldn’t you want to take into account his education and expertise, and to doubt him you could use that same skill to say he is not qualify enough or the research conducted doesn’t accredit his statement. You can also argue one way or another by using examples. Do you know of any family kids or friends that this has ever happened to.

  2. taaash Says:

    How do you feel about that quote? Hopefully you will discuss materialism in your paper because I think that it does play a huge role in how a child will turn out (I’m assuming that that’s what your paper is about). Was the author of the quote referring to the material adversity of the parents, or of the children, or both?


Leave a comment